+44 (0) 1865 952 700 |
Press enquiries
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Aurora Spring Forum 2020

Tuesday 24 March 2020

Home/Aurora Spring Forum 2020

Capitalising on Net Zero: Strategies to thrive in a deeply decarbonised energy sector


After another year of record-busting temperatures, climate change has rarely been far from the headlines. With protesters increasingly taking to the streets to demand action, governments across Europe have begun to adopt ambitious targets to reach net zero by 2050, or in some cases even sooner.

To be clear, decarbonisation will require a radical transformation of the energy industry, encompassing everything from supply and demand dynamics to fundamental questions of market design. The Aurora Spring Forum will take stock of where we are and where we are heading.

Specifically, we will explore:

  • How do we reach the two degrees target, and is it even possible?
  • Are market forces enough to achieve the required level of renewables build out? What role will governments need to play?
  • How much wind and solar can we integrate before completely new solutions are needed, both in terms of policy, markets and technology?
  • How do we make sure grids are ready for the challenge?
  • What role will data, digitalisation, automation and blockchain play?
  • What will be the role for gas and LNG in the low carbon transition? To what extent is CCS a prerequisite?
  • Similarly, what will be the role of the supermajors? What will they look like in 2050, assuming they still exist?
  • How much reforestation and other carbon sinks will we need? What are the limitations?

The Aurora Spring Forum has grown into one of the leading gatherings of energy executives and senior decision makers in Europe, attracting more than 300 participants in 2019.

Important information relating to the Coronavirus news

Aurora Spring Forum 2020 speakers

Keith Anderson - Chief Executive Officer, ScottishPower
Carol Bell - Founder Member, Chapter Zero Board
Baroness Brown - Vice Chair, Committee on Climate Change
Stephen Bull - Senior VP for Wind & Low Carbon Development, Equinor
Bobby Chada - Investment Analyst, Capital Group
Tony Cocker - Chairman, Infinis
Mark Collette - Chief Customer Officer, EnergyAustralia
Laura Cozzi - Chief Energy Modeller, International Energy Agency
Juliet Davenport - Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Good Energy
Laurie Fitch - Partner, PJT Partners
Will Gardiner - Chief Executive, Drax Group
Richard Gillingwater - Chairman, SSE
Emily Gosden - Energy Editor, The Times
Stephen Halliday - Former Chief Executive Offier, Wood Mackenzie
Judith Hartmann - Chief Financial Officer, ENGIE
Fiona Howarth - Chief Executive Officer, Octopus Electric Vehicles
Chris Hunt - Partner & Managing Director, Riverstone
Louise Kingham - Chief Executive, Energy Institute
Markus Krebber - Chief Financial Officer, RWE
Rt Hon Kwasi Kwarteng - Minister of State, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Danielle Lane - Director, Portfolio and Transactions & UK Country Manager, Vattenfall
Guillaume Leprieur - Director - Power & Renewables, MUFG Bank
Mike Lewis - Chief Executive Officer, E.ON UK
Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith - Professor, University of Oxford
Sinead Lynch - UK Country Chair, Shell
Cathy McClay - Director of Strategy, Policy & Regulation, Sembcorp Energy UK
Kevin McCullough - Chief Executive Officer, Calon Energy
Rosheen McGuckian - Chief Executive Officer, NTR
António Mexia - Chief Executive Officer, EDP
Dan Monzani - Head of Energy Security, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
John Morea - Chief Executive Officer, Scotia Gas Networks
Guy Newey - Strategy and Performance Director, Energy Systems Catapult
David Nussbaum - Senior Independent Director, Drax Group
Gwen Parry-Jones - Chief Executive Officer, Magnox
Minal Patel - Partner, Greencoat Capital
Alistair Phillips-Davies - Chief Executive, SSE
Philippa Pickford - Director, Future Retail Markets Portfolio, Ofgem
Jorge Pikunic - Managing Director, Centrica Business Solutions
Simone Rossi - Chief Executive Officer, EDF Energy
Basil Scarsella - Chief Executive Officer, UK Power Networks
Andreas Schierenbeck - Chief Executive Officer, Uniper
Boris Schucht - Chief Executive Officer, Urenco
Mark Shorrock - Chief Executive Officer, Shire Oak International
Fintan Slye - Executive Director, National Grid ESO
Paul Spence - Director of Strategy and Corporate Affairs, EDF
Jeremy Taylor - Director, Green Frog Power
Emma Tinker - Chief Investment Officer, Asper Infrastructure
Deepa Venkateswaran - Managing Director and Senior Analyst, Bernstein
Toni Volpe - Chief Executive Officer, Falck Renewables
James Watson - Partner, Osborne Clarke
Will Wilson - Chief Executive Officer, Siemens Mobility
Tony Wood - Energy Program Director, Grattan Institute

Gallery from 2019 Conference

2020 Partners

Sophisticated economic modelling with deep knowledge of policy and practice of energy markets